The Daylily Library's staffing is divided between two areas of focus: the library's main collections and services, and the library's Archival collection. Three librarians service our library operations, and this area also receives additional clerical/curation assistance from library support staff. Within our Archives, the work of our head archivist is supplemented by two archival assistants. Their official positions are listed as follows:
Firstname Lastname, Library Director.
Firstname Lastname, Librarian.
Firstname Lastname, Reference Librarian.
Firstname Lastname, Cataloging Librarian.
Firstname Lastname, Library Media Technician.
Firstname Lastname, Library Technician.
Firstname Lastname, Library Clerk.
Firstname Lastname, Head Archivist.
Firstname Lastname, Archives Assistant.
Firstname Lastname, Archives Assistant.
The Daylily Library derives much of its funding from grant institutions, namely those that sponsor historical collection endeavors and queer research. Our smaller collections are largely supported by public fundraising and patron support; the Library is incredibly grateful to its generous benefactors.
With these funding sources in mind, the Library utilizes a planning-programming budget and line-item allocation to further develop Library collections and resources for public availability.
Located in the heart of Portland, Oregon, The Daylily Library's research and collection spaces occupy a total of 3,000 sqft., making our building smaller than your average public library. The library's main collection is situated within two adjoining rooms, wherein you'll find several small seating areas and workspaces throughout. Our library offers five private research/reading rooms, which are available for reservation upon request. As our main library materials are not available for circulation, we additionally grant access to printing and scanning services, which are located in the rear collection room.
Within the main collection room, there are five computer stations which can be used to browse library material or conduct additional research. Each research/reading room is also equipped with its own computer station. Three of the computer stations in the main collection room are equipped with ScanPro microform readers. There are three service desks located within the main collection rooms, the first of which being our Service Hub, where our librarian is available to assist with general collection navigation and technology usage. For research-specific questions and findings, please consult our Reference & Research Assistance Desk, staffed by our reference librarian. If you have made an appointment to view our Archival or Ephemeral collections, or require assistance from one of our Archives staff, please visit the Archives & Special Collections Desk, located in the rear collection room.
The Daylily Library's Research & Reading Rooms
To reserve one of these spaces for usage, please visit the Reference & Research Assistant Desk, or contact this desk remotely.
☙ The Audre Lorde Reading Room
☙ The Radclyffe Hall Reading Room
☙ The Nathalie Barney Reading Room
☙ The Sarah Orne Jewett Reading Room
☙ The Sarah Waters Reading Room
