We have a varied and well-stocked print and media collection at Artisan Makers Library. Our print collection contains craft books, craft pattern books, history books on the arts & crafts movements, history on specific fiber arts, and other craft arts. We have 30,000 materials, both in print and in digital sources (eBooks, audiobooks, DVDs) on the subject of Art. We carry fiction, non-fiction, literature, graphic novels, biography & autobiography, romance, and thriller novels about or including the subject of art.
This Long Thread by
Celebrate the diverse work of people of color in the craft community and explore the personal, political, and creative potential of textile arts and crafts. In early 2019, the craft community experienced a reckoning when crafters of color began sharing personal stories about exclusion and racial injustice in their field, pointing out the inequity and lack of visible diversity within the crafting world. Author Jen Hewett, who is one of a few prominent women of color in the fiber crafts community, now brings together this book as a direct response to the need to highlight the diverse voices of artists working in fiber arts and crafts. Weaving together interviews, first-person essays, and artist profiles, This Long Thread explores the work and contributions of people of color across the fiber arts and crafts community, representing a wide spectrum of race, age, region, cultural identity, education, and economic class. These conversations explore techniques and materials, belonging, identity, pride of place, cultural misappropriation, privilege, the value (or undervaluing) of craft, community support structures, recognition or exclusion, intergenerational dialogue, and much more. Be inspired by the work and stories of innovative people of color who are making exceptional contributions to the world of craft. The diverse range of textile artists and craftspeople featured include knitters, quilters, sewers, weavers, and more who are making inspiring and innovative work, yet who are often overlooked by mainstream media.
Found and Ground by
Everything you need to learn how to make your own natural watercolor paints, oak gall ink and the brushes and pens to use them with. You'll find out how to forage for the materials you need in your locale and grasp the principles of simple, natural paint-making. 'Natural', 'no waste' and 'plastic-free'. If this is how you want to live your creative life, you will find a greener, more natural path with this book. It details a more sustainable and fulfilling approach to painting. Covering every aspect of making natural paints, from finding raw materials to the techniques needed to refine it, this book is suitable for the complete beginner as well as those with some experience in art. Found and Ground will also appeal to those with plenty of experience drawing and painting, but who until now have only used shop-bought materials to make their work. Found and Ground is the ideal reference book for artists and crafters wishing to moves away from plastics, such as those found in acrylic paints, as the natural paints can be used in their place. The book covers how to make a series of simple natural paints such as watercolor, gouache, tempera, and glair. It also includes innovative vegan 'egg paint' alternatives. Aimed at a general readership, all specialist art terminology is clearly and simply explained, and all the techniques are demonstrated through step-by-step instructions. Most importantly, it will teach readers how to forage and gather successfully and safely.
Stitched and Sewn by
A child survivor of the Holocaust, Trudie Strobel settled in California, raising a family and never discussing the horrors she witnessed. After her children grew up, the trauma of her youth caught up with her, triggering a paralyzing depression. A therapist suggested that Trudie attempt to draw the memories that haunted her, and she did--but with needle and thread instead of a pencil. What began as therapy exploded into works of breathtaking art, from narrative tapestries of Jewish history rendered in exacting detail to portraits of remarkable likeness, and many of her works are now in public and private collections.
Sketchbook Explorations by
A practical and inspirational guide to help embroiderers and textile artists make the most of sketchbooks to inform their creative work. The artist's sketchbook offers an exciting platform to explore a host of mixed media techniques. Using a combination of paper, textiles, found objects, pencil, ink and paint, Shelley Rhodes shows how a sketchbook can act as an illustrated diary, a visual catalogue of a journey or experience or as a starting point for more developed work. Whether out on location or in the studio, Rhodes explores every stage of the creative process, from initial inspiration to overcoming the fear of a blank page, manipulating paper and images and incorporating 'found' objects to build a sketchbook that is both beautiful and inspiring. Sketchbook Explorations is the ideal companion for everyone from the beginner to the more experienced artist looking for exciting techniques to expand their repertoire in mixed media. The book explores: Why work in sketchbooks? The importance and joy of working in a sketchbook. Ways of recording and investigating ideas that inspire. Techniques in mixed media from found objects and layers to three dimensional sketching. Creating on location. Using electronic devices to develop ideas.
Traditional Japanese Embroidery by
For Julia Gray silk is the finest of natural fibres and is full of life and shine. Embroidery on this beautiful fabric has been worked in many countries, but Julia finds the perfection aspired to in traditional Japanese embroidery a wonderful challenge. She learnt in Japan by copying the work of a master - her journey was both inspiring and enlightening. Julia found not only a way to stitch, but also a philosophy that allowed her to achieve balance and harmony in her everyday life. In thisinspirational guide she shares her passion and in depth knowledge of the history and practise of this eastern art form. It covers everything from handling flat silk and twisting your own threads to working the different stitches and finishing off an embroidery. Japanese design is influenced by the four seasons but in addition to floral motifs traditional designs also use the colours and symbols associated with festivals - trees, dolls, fish, birds and mythical figures. A series of simple step-by-step projects, which include the story behind each motif, help the reader to develop their techniques and learn about the symbolism of a great tradition.
Plus Size Knits by
It doesn't have to be a challenge to find well-constructed knitting patterns for your body type anymore. Plus Size Knits contains 25 stylish and sophisticated patterns, from pullover sweaters to cozy cardigans and more. Specifically designed for plus sized women, these styles result in flattering sweaters and accessories with beautiful details. Featuring stunning photography and helpful size charts and diagrams to create pieces that are tailored just for you, this is a must-have for plus size knitters!
Knitting the National Parks by
Knit unique beanies inspired by the jaw-dropping and unique landscapes from each of the 63 US National Parks. From the brightly colored pebbles of Lake McDonald in Montana's Glacier National Park to the regal granite cliffs of El Capitan and Half Dome in California's Yosemite Valley, the US National Parks contain some of the most recognizable and iconic natural landmarks in the world. Capture the majesty each national park offers with original beanie patterns created by knitting designer and outdoor enthusiast Nancy Bates. Beanies range from simple beanie constructions to more challenging stitch patterns such as the two-color crossovers inspired by South Dakota's Badlands or the multiple cable designs inspired by New Mexico's Carlsbad Caverns. Clear charts, easy-to-read keys, and thorough instructions help any knitter, whether beginner or experienced, through these gratifying projects. Show your love and appreciation of our national parks with these beautiful and practical beanie projects you can wear any time or any place. 63 KNITTING PATTERNS: Every US National Park is celebrated with a unique beanie design, including the newly designated park New River Gorge in West Virginia BEAUTIFULLY PHOTOGRAPHED: Each pattern is accompanied by photos of the finished beanie and gorgeous images of the park's landscapes that inspired it INSPIRED BY NATURE: Learn about each national park's unique fauna, flora, and landscapes that inspired each original beanie, from the Painted Wall in Colorado's Black Canyon of the Gunnison to the Salt Flats in California Death Valley EASY-TO-FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS: Each of the 63 beanies knitting patterns have been tested and verified and offer clear charts so that knitters of every skill level can knit a beanie in no time
Knitting Stashbusters by
Every knitter knows that sometimes you have yarn left over after finishing a make--maybe a whole ball, often slightly less than a ball, but either way too much to just throw it away and not enough to return it to the seller. Then there's the yarn you buy without a particular make in mind, just because it's a beautiful color, or you love the feel of it, or it was in a flash sale. But what can you do with all these lovely bits and pieces? Knitting Stashbusters has the answer: 25 lovely projects specially chosen to use up your yarn. Some can be made with one ball, others use up smaller amounts of several different shades, but all of them are chosen to save you from wasting what you already have in store. You can make a cute garland of hearts to brighten up a room, or knit a penguin toy for a new baby. Perhaps you'd like to make all sorts of cozies, or knit storage pots and a pencil case. Or you could choose to make a cute cottage doorstop using colors that match your own house. And once you've reduced the size of your stash, what better excuse could you have to go out and buy more yarn!
Conscious Crafts: Knitting by
Knitting (Conscious Crafts) is a contemporary craft project book presenting over 20 projects for beginners from the co-founders of The Black Girl Knit Club.
Made with Love by
Olympic gold medal-winning diver and beloved LGBTQ icon Tom Daley offers thirty exclusive knitting and crocheting patterns to enjoy and share. During the Tokyo Olympics, British diver Tom Daley was often spotted calming his nerves with knitting needles in hand. His new favorite hobby, which he picked up during the Covid lockdown, combined with his gold medal performance, won him a new legion of fans. In fact, his Olympic inspired cardigan, made just before he left for Japan, grabbed nearly as many headlines as his win. In his native England, Daley is beloved as a four-time Olympic medalist, well-known television personality, and activist in the LGBTQ space. In addition, Daley and his husband, the Oscar-winning screenwriter Dustin Lance Black, are the parents of a toddler son, and many of Tom's projects are adorable toys or clothes for Robbie. Now Tom has created thirty original projects for this book, sharing his joy of knitting and crocheting as a calming and creative outlet alongside his charming, witty personality. Full color and totally bespoke for this book, these projects run the gamut from toys to clothing for adults and kids to home décor. Full of color, full of joy, and Made with Love(tm) (the name of Tom's online store, selling projects, patterns and branded merchandise) this is yarn crafts made very cool.
Over 17,000 videos in Business, Technology, and Creative Arts in 7 languages for your computer or mobile device or App. Use “artisanmakers” for LibraryID. This resource is supported in whole or in part by funding provided by the State of California, administered by the California State Library.
Over 500 online continuing education courses on a variety of subjects including business skills, computer skills, crafts & hobbies, general education, homeschooling, personal development, teacher resources, and more.
Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals. Subjects covered include: art of Europe and the Americas (4th century to modern) architecture and industrial design decorative and applied arts drawings painting popular and folk art prints and sculpture.
Visit our periodical section within our print collection for an array of arts & crafts, textile arts, and fiber art magazine subscriptions.
Some of our most popular subscriptions include:
Looks at textile arts--including embroidery, quilting, knitting, crocheting, cross-stitch, needlepoint, lace-making, beadwork, dyeing, and fine hand sewing. Includes book reviews and a calendar of textile-related events. Piecework also includes articles that look at how materials can tell their own stories through time.
Embroidery magazine is published six times a year and first rolled off the press in 1932 – making it one of the longest standing textile magazines published today.
The Knitter is the premier brand for people who want to knit beautiful, original patterns from the world’s best designers. Explore new knitting techniques, discover the latest products and read informative, in-depth articles from experts around the globe.
Featuring over 20 crochet patterns every month as well as technical advice, clear instructions and all the latest crochet news. Whether you’re an absolute beginner, or a crochet expert, Simply Crochet is packed full of unique designs, awesome articles and inspiring features – everything you need to keep you hooked!
An illustrated monthly, international magazine concentrating on the contemporary art world in the United States, including profiles of artists and genres, updates about art movements, show reviews and event schedules.