Hello and welcome to our public library! We are an independent non-profit organization. Its mission is to advance the role of the Greater Leaf Public Library (GLPL) as a vital community resource. Public research and educational institutes based on GLPL's collections are available to the public, and the organization actively promotes art in the community. The public can only see a tiny selection of the collections. Therefore, we invite you to come and discover our library for yourself.
The Greater Leaf Public Library offers unrestricted and convenient access to a wide range of resources, including information, ideas, books, and technology, which serve to enrich, educate, and empower every person in various communities that make up our city.
-- The Greater Leaf Public Library Mission Statement
Library staff are available via phone and email at our various service desks listed below.
Circulation
(415) 123-5678
Reference Desk
(415) 978-6543
Art Lab
(415) 725-8621
greaterleaf_sf@LIBR.EDU
Questions, Comments, or Requests? Feel free to reach out, We'd love to hear from you.
The library is open for walk-in service during the following hours, and the majority of its services are available.
Monday - Thursday: 10am-8pm
Friday - Saturday: 10am-6pm
Sunday: CLOSED
If you would like to visit our art collection, on an appointment-only basis, please contact special collections and archives by phone or email.
Browse the online catalog of books and journal titles owned by the library, including proprietary databases, and art history resources online. Our collection also includes searching for books, vinyl, and other resources using the search bar below.
Art Collection
Study the details of your favorite works or find something you've never seen before. Discover new artists or new genres and stay up to date on today's art collection.
Find Your Artistic Voice: The Essential Guide to Working Your Creative Magic
by Lisa Congdon
ISBN: 978-1452168869
August 6, 2019
One of an artist's most distinctive traits is the voice they use. It's the thing that gives their works their uniqueness and significance. However, it takes time and dedication to achieve such unique artistic abilities. In this comprehensive guide to finding one's creative voice, bestselling author, artist, and illustrator Lisa Congdon shares her wealth of knowledge. With insightful commentary from Congdon and conversations with renowned artists, illustrators, and creatives, this unique book will teach readers how to discover and cultivate their own visual identity, deal with the impact of artists they look up to, overcome self-doubt and fears, and recognize the worth of their unique path.
Art & Fear: Observations On the Perils
by David Bayles and Ted Orlando
ISBN: 978-0961454739
April 1, 2001
Art & Fear looks at how art is made, why it doesn't get made very often, and the kinds of problems that make so many artists give up along the way. David Bayles and Ted Orland, who wrote the book together, are both working artists who deal with the problems of making art in the real world every day. Their sharp thoughts and observations, based on their own lives, give us a clear picture of how artmakers actually experience the world.
Visit the library during open hours and ask a librarian at the circulation desk for a library card. You may use it to borrow books, DVDs, and audio materials, as well as toys and video games.
When parents provide a legitimate form of identification, such as a driver's license or California identity card, or a recent piece of mail with the current address, they may enroll their accompanied children in the library for free.
